Search the forum,

Discuss Whats going on here? - Live and earth reverse from Tester in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi Guys
This is my first post so please go easy on me .
I have basic knowledge of domestic electrical installations and I'm not just a diy nutter, so I was quite prepared to swap a socket in my own house.
Here's what happened.
I was in Plumbfix when I saw a promotion for double sockets with USB outlets built in,............
I checked the current socket with a simple plug in tester...3 lights all good.. I know I should turn off the power first, but i unscrewed the plate to see where the cables were routed. The neutral wires were not tightly fixed but this lead to me pulling them clear as I didn't want to trip the rcd before i isolated the curcuit, When I separated the two neutral wires I noticed a small spark. This seemed odd, so I checked them for voltage, there appears to be 240v between the two neutrals that were in the same terminal of the socket, but virtually no ampage. Unsure of what this meant or what to do, I isolated and capped the cable with the voltage refitted the "Good" neutral, checked with the socket tester again and left it so I could quiz my normal sparks.Who is on holiday for 3 weeks ( clearly paid too much):smiley2: This is not the end of my woes, now the other sockets on one side of the affected one don't work and the tester shows "live and earth reverse" .
Anyone have any idea as to what's going on? I'm genuinely confused!

Welcome to the forum :)

Firstly what you are doing is dangerous, both because of the shock risks and the fact you lack the knowledge here hence you don't understand the voltage reading on the N and why they sparked....