Discuss wiring Kitchen appliances. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all, A builder friend of mine asked me if all large kitchen appliances ( ie dishwasher , fridge ect ) have to be run off a fused switch spur. He said an electrician he has used insisted that he cut the plugs off the new appliances and wire them in directly to the fused switch. I told him I dont belive this is the case but then started doubting myself as Im new to the electrical trade. Has anyone got an answer for me. Sorry if Im being dim and should know this is the case.

Thanks.

They do not have to go into fused spurs, flex outlets or anything else for that matter. The plug tops are sometimes removed because the depth of the appliance means a socket would make the appliance stick out too far from the units, there are ways round that though.

Lots of electricians have lots of ways to do different jobs, all of which might achieve compliance with the regs but if an appliance was REQUIRED to be wire to a fused spur why would it come with a moulded plug top?
What the guy was probably talking about was above worktop isolation. In this case there is, once again, no requirement for a fused spur, I've been on jobs where the spec has called for a DP switch above the worktop controlling a socket for the appliance below.

In short... NO

Either plug stand-alone units into sockets behind the appliance (space permitting), or stand-alone and built-in appliances into sockets at the back of adjoining cupboards. I prefer to keep sockets in the wall, and cut a hole out of the back of the unit, but some people surface mount inside the cupboard itself. These sockets should ideally be fed from either 20A DP switches or SFCU's above worktop height to enable "switching off" without having to wheel said appliance out.

The reason for cutting the plug off and not using a socket means one less place to have a fault.