Discuss 3 phase domestic job in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I fully accept that having swapped trades half way through my life I don't have the years of experience that many of you guys have and maybe I should have put my time in as an apprentice, but that isn't how it all turned out for me!

I am a qualified electrician with Stroma, but find their technical support patronising and unhelpful to say the least.

I do a lot of standard domestic work but I haven't done a lot of 3 phase. I have a friend who has a domestic 3phase installation which needs re-designing as they are upgrading their old night storage as well as getting new immersion heaters and aga etc. An extension is pending too!

I really want to help them out with project as this as the work lies awkwardly between your average domestic and commercial and they can't find anyone who can deal with it. It would be interesting and push my knowledge but it wouldn't be something I would be prepared to take on without having someone more experienced check my plans.

It would be quite a mission to put it all in a post so I was hoping maybe someone experienced would be willing to chat on the phone or meet up for an hour to talk it through. Happy to pay for the time.

We like long posts... :)
Also you would get more options on how to do a job if you get more input from the forum, rather than just one person.
We will be gentle..... with a little bit of pee taking (It's compulsory..:))
Just give us your thought on the installation and we can advice.. That way you learn stuff as well.

It is likely that they are only using one of the phases have you checked? Quite a few houses have three phase but only use one usually