Discuss Can you fit 25mm conduit to a 20mm back box? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello,

Im really new to the world of conduit. I have some 25mm pvc conduit and cant for the life of me seem to fit back boxes with 25mm knockouts. Is there an adapter that fits a 25mm conduit in to a 20mm back box? Can i cut a 25mm hole in the back box? Do the 20mm male adapters allow for 25mm conduit to go into 20mm back boxes?

You can get pvc reduces that allow 20mm to fit into 25mm setups, I am not sure but I assume you can get the reverse option too.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20230131_234849_Chrome.jpg
    162.6 KB · Views: 6
Are you using 25mm for the amount of cables in the conduit? If so, it will be tricky to get them through anything smaller.
The hole in the adaptor through the threaded section will be even smaller than the conduit size. So even smaller than 20.

Either back boxes with 25mm holes already, drill the holes out bigger or reduce the conduit size.

It might be tricky to "drill" (i.e. holesaw) out any exsiting knock-outs without it coming to a messy end as the cetre bit decides it is being knocked out. If you get a 25mm hole punch it can open out an existing 20mm hole much more easily and neater.

As above, look at Q-max punches. I have a 20 and 25 and they are excellent bits of kit.
You drill a small hole, assemble it like a nut and bolt, tighten up and get a very clean hole.

(I often use the 20 punch, a galv coupler and bushes and a metal surface fused spur if adding outside lights and it’s a metal CU with no knockout in a convenient place)

I have bought Q-max punches before from both of these places:
However there are other places you might find them, not always as good value or in-stock: