Discuss Combi Drill and Tools for commercial work? in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am new to the industry and I have just been offered job :hurray: with a company who mainly focus on commercial work around the North West.

I have no kit as this is my first job in the trade. I have been told to get hold of my own Cordless Drill and start collecting the basic tools for mainly commercial jobs.

Can anyone help me with a small list of required tools and your recommendations would also be appreciated. I'm looking at spending around ÂŁ150, possibly ÂŁ200 on a decent drill.

Thanks in advance!

Rob

What I was told when I started was to get a good pair of side cutters and a decent hammer then just a basic set of screwdrivers, knife and pliers.
The rest you will work out as you go along

who told you to get a drill? a drill shouldn't even be a thought till you get a collection of handtools

what kind of work do they do in comercial? it would be silly of us to recommend certain tools to you if you will never use them there

Last edited:
What I was told when I started was to get a good pair of side cutters and a decent hammer then just a basic set of screwdrivers, knife and pliers.
The rest you will work out as you go along
was a little different when i started, i did a plumbing course alongside the electrical course and they bassically told us what kind of tools to buy and which brands to look at.

ill get a quick starter list together later, i personally wouldnt get the ck kit i dont like there waterpump pliers and some other tools etc.

some irwin tools are horrible but i haven't come across a better stanley than the irwin folder.

knipex/bahco/wiha 160mm side cutters
stanley fatmax 18" bag
300mm disston hacksaw
14/16oZ hammer
wera/wiha,irazola screwdriver set
stanley boat level

that is a good starter kit

Last edited: