Discuss Concerning R1 + R2 and r1,rn,r2 ring final results ? in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Soulsurfer

-
Arms
Reaction score
Hi all,
Can anyone shed any light on some strange really low readings on a ring final circuit I've just 2nd fixed including replacing some legs as the IR was bad in places on old cabling before.

Thought it could be my MFT batteries going and therefore giving possibility of silly results but upon getting home I tested a part used drum of 1.5mm T & E and got good results ! I'm new to doing my own testing so am a bit baffled. Drum I tested I estimate at 60-70 metres or so left on maybe a touch more but can't find my OSG to look up the resistance per metre of 1.5 Twin, readings were L-E 1.43 ohms, N-E 1.49 ohms, and L-N 1.15 ohms which looked reasonable whereas on the ring r1 was 0.00 ohms, rn also 0.00 ohms and r2 0.16 ohms !! Thinking something silly has been overlooked here ? R1 + R2 tested at almost certainly furthest point too and had 0.00 ohms there too ?? Have two sockets wired as spurs too and no difference there either ! I expected higher resistance readings on them.

Half hoping that due to being up best part of week these nights with poorly 5 yr old my brain has overlooked a fundamental mess up !

Hey Dave, I actually forgot to post that I read exactly that and also batteries on the decline on the Fluke giving spurious readings and the batteries are low'ish showing on self test at 7.2V and should be 9V when new batteries in it. But by testing the drum of 1.5mm I thought if batteries I'd still get 0.00 or near, but I actually got a reading as above that looked o.k.

I did null leads using the zero function and via deducting the read resistance myself to make sure, Croc clips together and by using the little fluke zero adapter that was in the case ! ( piece of pricey metal !! lol )