Discuss Cornrr taped and center taped deltas. in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

dfloodhvac

Sooo I'm an hvac technician with a through understanding of electricity. And today i ran across a Y to delta step up transformer installation with a corner taped grounded delta secondary side... this was a Y 208va primary delta step up 240 va secondary.... funny thing was whoever installed this step up corner grounded delta tried to bond a neutral with the corner taped ground in an attempt to pull 120 va circuits. Now i know a corner taped delta can't be neutraled for 120 power because the corner ground is at phase voltage. But can i pull a neautral bus from the supply 208 Y transformer in order to pull 120 power. And is this code??

There’s several things of concern:

• Very few UK electricians, unlike me, understand corner and centre grounded ∆.
  • I'm an hvac technician with a through understanding of electricity” so as you’re not an electrician to would be remiss to advise you.
  • Very few UK electricians, again unlike me, have a copy of the NEC code.

I’ll give you a hint, look at section 250 in the NEC code book.

Last edited by a moderator:
Alright god.... it just erks me wen electricians think they're holier than thou. Unfortunately you dnt kno wat ur talking about. I dnt need theory.

Sooo I'm an hvac technician with a through understanding of electricity. And today i ran across a Y to delta step up transformer installation with a corner taped grounded delta secondary side... this was a Y 208va primary delta step up 240 va secondary.... funny thing was whoever installed this step up corner grounded delta tried to bond a neutral with the corner taped ground in an attempt to pull 120 va circuits. Now i know a corner taped delta can't be neutraled for 120 power because the corner ground is at phase voltage. But can i pull a neautral bus from the supply 208 Y transformer in order to pull 120 power. And is this code??