Discuss generator/alternator to inverter wiring? in the Auto Electrician Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

dandy1

Hi all and thanks for reading.

i am a novice at electrics so your help is greatly appreiciated

right i have an inverter (110v 5kva) for my van and it runs off its own alternator. there are six wires which are 12v negative, 12v positive, these i understand and are used just to power the inverter itself. there are then three phase wires which are not numbered and my question is would it matter exactly where the wires are terminated on the inverter I.E.phase 1, phase 2, phase 3 as marked on the inverter.

also the sixth wire is what i believe is field? this is marked up on the inverter so no problems there but would like to understand what the wire is for.

again thanks for your help

yeah its a powerall 200 series from powerall.co.uk, there is some info on the website but cant find anything for wiring.
i did phone them for a manual but looks like they dont want to give them away, and the alternator mount kit is 500+vat so heres why im here.

Attachments

• DSC_0011.jpg
    552.6 KB · Views: 52
Welcome to the forum :)

Do you have a make/model etc so members can look up the Inverter and advise accordingly.

its a powerall p200 series (p211) from powerall.co.uk, i cant get the wiring ifo from them. i have uploaded some photos if anyone can shed some light on it.DSC_0010.jpgDSC_0011.jpg

I don't know the unit but the three phase connections appear to be direct from the alternator stator winding, i.e. the three yellow leads from the terminal block on the side of the alternator, it should not matter which is which as it would be most unlikely that the inverter is sensitive to the phase sequence. However if it does not generate, as a double-check you might try swapping any two of the three, which reverses the sequence.