Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Discuss Help!!! Can't turn electric off!!! in the Electrical Forum area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. Doug81
    Offline

    Doug81 EF Member

    Location:
    Nottingham
    Hi, I'm currently in the process of changing all my switches and sockets and I'm coming across a few problems, like no earth wire for any of the light fittings. Similarly no earth for some of the upstairs plug sockets but the worst yet is the socket in the hallway (right by the fuse box). It has both new (blue,brown,yellow/green) and old (red,black) wires looped together -not a big issue I hear you say....well it is when the old wiring is live even when the fuse box is switched off!!! How do I go about making it safe??? IMG-20190202-WA0002.jpg
     
    • Dumb Dumb x 1
  2. Andy-1960
    Offline

    Andy-1960 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Are you trying to tell us that the cables in that photo are live? If you are not a competent electrician you really need to get one quickly!
     
    • Agree Agree x 5
  3. littlespark
    Offline

    littlespark Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    The red and black there is still live when the fuse board is turned off?
    You have a serious problem.

    How did you test that? Sore fingers?

    Can you post a photo of your meter and fuseboard set up. There might be a clue as to what is wrong.

    Can you safely protect those live cables from accidental touching?

    How did a socket fit on that box with all that plaster taking up the top right corner?

    Anyone in Nottingham up for a late night Saturday night callout?
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. rapparee
    Offline

    rapparee Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Ireland
    Find out where it is fed from and turn it off


    Turn off the whole house if you have to.


    Don't let anyone near that.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 2
  5. PEG
    Offline

    PEG Respected Member

    Location:
    Manchester
    ....I only looked at this post,coz i thought some condemned prisoner,in the USA,had managed to sneak an Iphone in the chamber....
     
    • Funny Funny x 6
  6. littlespark
    Offline

    littlespark Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    On a side note, the lack of CPC (earth wire) is worrying on the sockets.
    Not so much on the lighting as it was common in older days to not include a cpc in the cables.
    It just means you shouldn't use metal switches on a circuit without a cpc
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. Doug81
    Offline

    Doug81 EF Member

    Location:
    Nottingham
    No just red and black are live??
     
  8. Doug81
    Offline

    Doug81 EF Member

    Location:
    Nottingham
    20190202_205945.jpg
     
  9. Rpa07
    Offline

    Rpa07 3000 posts - only 50554 behind Telectrix! Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Bristol
    Business Name:
    Ebenezer electrical
    Needs better picture than that Doug - we cant even see the labelling. Which mcb are you switching off when you are as none are off now. Puzzling!
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Dumb Dumb x 1
  10. Dave OCD
    Offline

    Dave OCD Forum Mentor

    Location:
    Cornwall
    Business Name:
    Hendry Electrical Services
    Doug - Are you saying that the red stranded cables are live with the main switch on the far left turned off ? If so I suspect some dodgy goings on within the CU where some idiot may have bodged in a way of bypassing, god knows why though.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Dislike Dislike x 1
  11. Dave OCD
    Offline

    Dave OCD Forum Mentor

    Location:
    Cornwall
    Business Name:
    Hendry Electrical Services
    Or if you're saying no single MCB isolates the point it's probably cross-connected circuits across two devices, DIY is all well and good but I strongly recommend you get a decent electrician in - urgently. But why on earth did you remove the socket without isolating first ??!!
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  12. Doug81
    Offline

    Doug81 EF Member

    Location:
    Nottingham
    It's all back on now but I switched the main red one off on the left. What do you need to see in the pic?
     
  13. Doug81
    Offline

    Doug81 EF Member

    Location:
    Nottingham
    Yes that's exactly what I'm saying!! Any way of switching it off??
     
  14. Doug81
    Offline

    Doug81 EF Member

    Location:
    Nottingham
    IMG-20190202-WA0003.jpeg
     
  15. Dave OCD
    Offline

    Dave OCD Forum Mentor

    Location:
    Cornwall
    Business Name:
    Hendry Electrical Services
    Switch ALL devices off and check again - but you should heed my advice in post 11.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...
Similar Threads - Help Can't turn Forum Date
18th edition question help Electrical Course Trainees Only Thursday at 7:46 PM
@ 33 & 10+ years of various jobs with no end reward. Time to be a Sparky! Help please New Member Introductions Wednesday at 12:33 PM

Share This Page

Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job