Discuss How can I speed up? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello,
I am an apprentice electrician doing work mostly on domestic 3 bed house rewires (do flats and other houses as well but most are 3 bed houses) we normally do the rewires in 1 day (start about 8 and finish time varies between 2-3 (if lucky) and 4-6 most of the time)
The issue is that it the it takes me too long to do the upstairs (loft, fit lights and switches and chop, Capp and fit sockets then clean up) and it can take me all day to do this and some times the people I work with have to come up and fits some of the sockets as they have finished the downstairs.

How can I speed up?

Thanks.

Practice!

although in fairness, you've got the rub end of it being given the loft all the time.

Hi,

The only tip I can give you probably do anyway. Set up your cable drum under a hole left by one of the old ceiling roses, go to your farthest point and pull the cable through the hole , clipping as you go back to the next point. Loop in your live feed then clip back to the next point and so on.
This is a quick way of pulling in your feeds between lighting points.

Regards.

Practice, yes - the more you do it the quicker you'll get. If you try to rush it you'll end up making mistakes or getting injured.
Otherwise you could ask the guys you're working with who have seen what you do and might be able to suggest a quicker way of doing it.

I would far rather have an apprentice that is a bit slower who does a good tidy job than some speedy smart arse that has to go back and fix mistakes, the hare and the tortoise spring to mind.

My advice would be, don't do it alone, Work together.

In my job I often work together even with people i don't know. and I know I will not receive all the possible income, but the work can be done more efficient, for the customer.
and next day you have the next Customer

Thanks for the reply.