Discuss I want to be an electrician in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Med75

-
Reaction score
hi guys I’m new to the forum and I want some advice I’m 42 years old and I’m a taxi driver at present I’ve always had an interest in electrics and now I’ve decided I want to become an electrician I’m wondering firstly am I to old and secondly what is the best way to get qualified my local college does a fast track 10 week course for level 2 for £2660 and they also do a fast track 10 level 3 for £3330 is this the way to go as it’s a lot of money and I will be funding it myself is it easy to get employment afterwards etc thanks in advance for advice

Hi, i wohld say no dont do any courses that say you will be qualified in a few months its take 3-4 years to become qualified correctly, if you do the 10 week courses it will not be very easy to find employment as these courses are looked down on in the electrical industry as you cant get the sufficient knowledge or experience in that time. If i was you i would just go to college and do the city and guilds 2356 level 2 and 3 and then do your nvq3 which now includes the am2 qualification and also do the regualtion course which by then will be 18th edition.

It take a long time to become an electrican not 20 weeks total sorry, and for your age im sure its fine one of the lads in my college class was 52 and still got fully qualified and every thing the only problem with your age is your not likely to be able to get an apprenticeship but i would think you probily dont want one any way as it dont pay very well.

Any way good luck but stay away from the quick route to be a electrician.

Don't go for the quick route.... Doesn't pay out in the long run.
Good example.... Re-wired a house and a client had started his electrical course at college evening classes. When finished he felt he really lacked practical skills and asked if he could tag along to build his skill set.