Discuss Moving Forward in the Industrial Electricians' Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

C

critch

Hi Guys,

Im after some advice and help with regards my current qualifications and how to move forward.

Story so far

I left school and started working as an apprentice electrician working towards a NVQ Level 3 but unfortunately i was laid off and thus could not continue on the course without being employed in the industry. A few years went by struggling to get permament work in the industry and with no luck with someone taking me on as an apprentice i put myself through college of an evening to obtain Level 2 Certificate in Electrotechnical Installations (2330). Since finishing this i have again tried to find work to allow me to move onto the NVQ Level 3 and become a time served electrician but as of yet nothing has come
up.

Career Plan
My career plans at the moment rely on me being able to obtain further educations in two directions. I wish to either complete my NVQ Level 3 to become a time served qualified electrician or begin looking at taking a BTEC Level 3 or HNC in Electrical Engineering as these qualifications currently dont require employment to undertaken.

Current Qualifications
Level 2 Certificate In Electrotechnical Installations (2330)
Level 3 Diploma in IT Uses

Questions
  • What is required to turn my Level 2 (2330) Into a NVQ Level 3! Is this one further year in college on the NVQ course?
  • Is there an alternative route i can take to obtain the NVQ Level 3 other than finding employment as an apprentice?
  • Would going down the electrical engineering route be more viable than spending further time trying to achieve the NVQ 3?
  • Is there any ways around being an apprentice to get onto the NVQ courses such as becoming self employed or volunteering to work for free for the duration of the course?
  • Is it worth me taking my 17th Edition with the hope of it helping me to obtain work to finish the Level 3?