Discuss Property developer, What electical work can I do ? and what course should I go on ? in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

trogg

Hello all
As a property developer I quite often have to replace sockets and switches which I believe I'm allowed to do ? However I'm not 100% sure what I am allowed to work on.
So, 2 questions,
What can I legally work on, and what courses do you recommend ?
Thanks

Re: Property developer, What electical work can I do ? and what course should I go on

You are legally allowed to replace any accessories in all rooms, except bathroom and kitchen. You are also not allowed to carry out any external electrical work.

Re: Property developer, What electical work can I do ? and what course should I go on

Thanks Adam for your reply,
The things I'd like to be able to do are, removing and replacing things like a shower or an extractor fan etc when re-plastering or tiling, but like you said, I'm not allowed to do this at the moment.
I believe there is a 17th edition course, what's that all about ? will it be any good for me ?

If you are not "competent" to carry out electrical work then you should not be doing any.
If you are, then you can do anything which your training has prepared you for, though you will need to carry out testing for everything except "like-for-like" replacements (and even some of this work needs testing).
If you search the forum or internet for "part P", you will see what needs notifying to LBC.
As for courses.... Enrol on an apprenticeship, or else leave electrical work to electricians :)

I believe there is a 17th edition course, what's that all about ? will it be any good for me ?

The 17th edition course is for experienced electricians to "top up" their knowledge of the latest regulations. It is not an electrical course as such (being only a few days long).