Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. angel While you're here, would you mind checking out our Electrician's Insurance section to see if we could save you a few quid? - Specifically our Van Insurance Deals and Public Liability Insurance Deals. Thanks for supporting the forum! angel

    5% Discount from Electrical2Go.co.uk for ALL members! - Click Here

Discuss Regulations on running electrical cable to power garden in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. Rob2017
    Offline

    Rob2017 EF Member

    Location:
    UK
    Hi all,

    I'm looking at electrifying my garden buildings: a garage a couple of metres from the house with concrete ground inbetween, then a workshop/office 20m away at the bottom of the garden, plus a couple of sockets/lights on the way.

    I will absolutely have a registered electrician in to do this work as I'm in no way qualified or competent.

    However, I wanted to know in advance of that what the regulations are for situating the cable?

    We had the house rewired at the start of this year, so there's already an un-connected thick black armoured cable from (near) the consumer unit to near the garage. When this is connected, will it need to be buried in the concrete to run to the garage? What about running down the garden, is it a buried job or what's the plan?

    If anyone can point me to the right point in the regulations or has their own views, I'd be much obliged.

    Many thanks,
    Rob
     
  2. Gavin John Hyde
    Offline

    Gavin John Hyde Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Somerset
    Business Name:
    Sulis Electrical Services Ltd
    does not have to be buried,you can run it along say a garden wall in a discrete manner and dont mind seeing it, last one i did on a wall, customer painted to match the stone! fences are not ideal as could come down in wind and drag cable with it, also the weight of the armoured cable could damage standard fence panels.
    if buried it has to be sufficiently deep to prevent damage, which is a bit subjective and dependant on whether you will be walking around putting a garden fork in the ground.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Spoon
    Online

    Spoon Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Lancashire
    What is the route of the existing SWA cable to the garage?
    Why was this not kept in place when the re-wire was done?
     
  4. Taylortwocities
    Offline

    Taylortwocities Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    How big? there will be a size stamped on it.

    Just because its a cable, dont assume its going to be big enough.
    Whats the load, what's going in the workshop? MIG welder, lathe, engine hoist, hot tub, electric shower and heating suck a lot of amps, and 20 metres is quite a distance if the load is substantial.
    You need to calc the total expected max load, your electrician can then tell you if the supplied cable, and its connection, is going to be sufficient to meet your expectations.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Spoon
    Online

    Spoon Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Lancashire
    OP: or just make a list of equipment you want to use in the garage & workshop and give this to the electrician. He/She will do all the calcs for the circuit.
     
  6. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Northampton
    Business Name:
    None
    Deleted
     
  7. Rob2017
    Offline

    Rob2017 EF Member

    Location:
    UK
    Thanks all.

    Spoon, to answer your question: the existing wiring for the garage and the workshop was an indoor (flat and grey) cable run through the air off the back of an upstairs socket. The existing wiring for the workshop was an indoor cable along the surface of the flowerbeds, connected where needed to other cables using indoor (non-waterproof) junction boxes. This is the reason why none of this was kept when I had the house re-wired by a professional!

    The guy that did the house supplied the cable that's ready to be used (the one I mentioned earlier), so I assume he's calculated what will be needed based on the distance that he's seen as he'll be doing the outside work too.

    My own plan is not to have any high energy usage workshop equipment, but to use it more as an office or 'den'. An electric heater may be used down there though. If future owners want to run more than that I guess they can get it re-wired!

    Thanks Gavin for your note about not needing to bury it. Hmm there is no wall running the length of the garden, however there are concrete fenceposts... perhaps joining to these near their base would work as a plan to suggest to the electrician carrying out the work?
     
  8. buzzlightyear
    Online

    buzzlightyear still kicking sand, before pushing up daisies . Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    star command
    with out seeing the job who no's it will be down to the spark to design it and test it.
     
  9. Wilko
    Online

    Wilko Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Berkshire
    Business Name:
    Wilko Electrics
    Hi Rob - cables may be buried, surface mounted or mounted on a catenary wire, it's really up to you and your Electrician. But in all cases it needs to be safe and suitable for use in that way.
     
  10. Murdoch
    Offline

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    I'm always very suspicious of members who prevent others from viewing their profile, and previous activity.

    In answer to your question - there are a number of considerations regarding outdoor cables, routing, burying, over head etc that all need to be considered.

    Best idea is to get a couple of local sparks to come and take a look ...
     
  11. Spoon
    Online

    Spoon Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Lancashire
    I didn't know you could to that.....
    upload_2018-8-9_18-49-34.png
    Why someone would do this, I have no idea.
     
  12. Murdoch
    Offline

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    Think about it ..............
     
  13. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Northampton
    Business Name:
    None
    Probably due to the fact that they have no quals or electrical experience, and are just chancers, at least there are some members who, when asked what electrical quals they have, answer with All of them, lots, enough, c&gs, a few, etc you get the picture?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Rob2017
    Offline

    Rob2017 EF Member

    Location:
    UK
    I'm confused if this is referring to me as the OP or not...

    If it is, I've not changed any settings in my account to do this and I've already explicitly stated I'm not qualified or competent to carry out electrical work... o_O

    Anyway, thanks for all the responses everyone! :)
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Regulations running electrical Forum Date
Does Wylex RCCB meet Regulations? New Member Introductions Jun 13, 2018
18th Edition Regulations exam study Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations Jun 10, 2018

Share This Page

Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job