Discuss What are the implications of a failed Neutral - Earth insulation resistance test? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Greetings!

Newbie here! We have 3 phase installation in our Lighting dimmer rack. During Insulation Resistance testing on Earth-Nuetral, readings was 0.33Mohm on 500v test. What causede the failed test and how can I troubleshoot? Thank you!

Markus

Greetings!

Newbie here! We have 3 phase installation in our Lighting dimmer rack. During Insulation Resistance testing on Earth-Nuetral, readings was 0.33Mohm on 500v test. What causede the failed test and how can I troubleshoot? Thank you!

Markus
What earthing system do you have?

Damaged insulation on a neural conductor somewhere, you need to break the circuit down to trace the fault.

0.33 megs is a typical reading for surge protection, as above, check that out. Have you disconnected final circuits from the rack and tested them separately?

Does the rack have any indicator lights for polarity or earth fault? If so, the reading you are getting might be caused by the indicator's series resistor. What make and model of dimmer is it? Have you consulted the manufacturer's instructions about what types of insulation test are permitted?

I should start tracing from the Neutral insulation first? How about the Earth insulation? Thank you!
I have deleted my post (albeit too late) as I don't give DIY advice (sorry Markus) as I think it is dangerous.

However, you have beat me too it and copied my post. Just be safe and get an electrician. :)

Last edited:
It doesn't really work like that Markus. The problem could be many, many different things. It's OK to do some detective work and from your own experience think about the most likely causes (in fact it's a very good idea), this can help save time but it's unlikely to find the fault by it's self.