Discuss Wiring advice for a novice in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I discovered a blank face plate in our large food cupboard and thought- ‘if there’s wiring behind this then I could put a little microwave in there’

There is wiring. (See horrible photo) so I will wire in a single plug socket there.

Being a novice I wanted to check the following-
After isolating power I will attach the following to their respective holes in the outlet:

Brown - live
Red- neutral (I’m used to being blue?)
Green yellow- earth

Question- I notice the wires are doubled up together in the terminal blocks. Why is this? Cos they come from different sources? If so why not just bring the power from one source?

I’m assuming I attach each pair of wires as one into their respective holes in the new outlet I will put in.

Thanks in advance for any advice that will potentially save my life :)

F5D9AE84-96F7-49B3-8709-F27B1817AEBB.jpeg

Attachments

• 7CB04356-115F-43F1-BCF8-40CF29DC44C8.jpeg
    212.4 KB · Views: 18
It does appear that there may have been a socket there at some stage from the fact the are 2 pairs of cables. However from the photo it is hard to tell the size of the cable. Have you checked if they are live? You would probably be best having it tested before reconnecting in any case.

First you need to establish what type of circuit this is connected to, is it a lighting circuit, socket circuit or something else?

If it is not a socket circuit then you should not connect a socket to it.

If it is a socket circuit then you need to establish if it is suitable for the addition of another socket. This includes confirming that the correct protection against electric shock is in place.

There aren't any brown conductorsthere, the conductors are red and black. This is the old standard wiring colours used for many, many years. If you cannot correctly identify which is live and which is neutral you should not be attempting this job.