Discuss Arduino Project Circuit Help in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

Rishav Guha

Okay so I'm doing this project based on Arduino(which is a kind of microcontroller). The thing is, I'm a coder and don't really know a lot about the electrical side stuff. So I got a few queries and it'd be really helpful if someone could point me in the right direction:)

First off, the power supply. It's an outdoor project, so it'd be pretty inconvenient to power it using a ac-dc adapter. So i thought of using a solar panel along with a battery, to keep it working day and night. There are arduinos. the first one takes 5V and upto 1A. The second one takes 3.3V and upto 1A. I also need a diode to prevent the battery from discharging overnight through the solar panels.

The Solar Panel I'm thinking of, is this: Amazon.com: Instapark® NEW All Black 10W Mono-crystalline Solar Panel with 12V Solar Charge Controller: Patio, Lawn & Garden

The output is 10W, with max out voltage=17.5V and max out current=0.57A.

How would I connect this to the arduinos? I thought I could connect the solar panel in parallel with the battery and the arduinos. That way the panel would charge the battery AND provide power during the day, and in the night, the battery would power the arduinos. The diode would prevent the current from flowing through the solar panel.

Is the idea correct?
Also, importantly, where do i place the diode?
which and what kind of diode do i use?
How do I convert the current from the solar panel, to 3.3V/1A and 5V/1A? Using transformers?
And what battery would store the energy most efficiently, and work for at least 8-12 hours without charging?
Could someone please help me out by giving me a circuit diagram and explaining the working to me? Thanks:)