Discuss Big cable run supply issue in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi,

I’m an industrial electrician, so when it comes to DB regs and such my experience on them is a little limited.

I need 2 x 16A 3 phase supply and 4 x 230v 3 pin sockets which is intend to do as a ring however, the nearest supply is approx 120m away! Running this through a cable calculator I’m being advised to run 16mm cable in.

I’m wondering if I’m allowed to put a consumer unit in about half way, and have each circuit ran from there?

This would be fed from a 100A supply DB. About 80A occupied but I’m unsure on being allowed a consumer unit from a db? Any additional info on how to tackle this would be appreciated like domestic regs an industrial lad wouldn’t often come across.

In terms of meeting end-end voltage drop I doubt it will help you save much copper unless the areas to be served are physically close to that half-way point.

I'm guessing "4 x 230v 3 pin sockets which is intend to do as a ring" implies 13A sockets, but what expected load?

Ideally you want to try and balance loads over the 3 phases where practical, but obviously 3P scokets are pretty much balanced by design. However a quick check shows not a lot of difference in 120m & 64A load or something closer to ~43A in loads sort of balanced out.

Reply to Big cable run supply issue in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

Some advise or views would be appreciated. My supply is 100 amp single phase. I purchased my property 3 years ago or so, the owner prior to the...
Replies
Views
Hi all, I am at odds on whether RCD protection is required on an SWA of 14 metres, clipped direct under flooring direct from CU to an exterior...
Replies
Views
Hello All, I have just found out that a family member who is having some Building work done has been advised to insulate above the Kitchen...
Replies
Views