Discuss BTEC in Electronic Engineering - then train to become a Inspection and Testing Elecy? in the Electrical Engineering Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

slinger69

Hi guys,

I am new here and would really like some advice concerning a career change.

I have a BTEC in Electronic Engineering which I gained some 18 years ago. I have never put it too much use, however I always really enjoyed testing circuitry and problem solving and wanted to make a career of it. However I have no knowledge at all of rewiring and the more hands on side of Electrician work.

After investigating further I have come across the C&G 2394/2395 course which would go towards the beginning of training to be a Test and Inspection Electrician. I also realise that I would first need to sit my 17th Edition. I also realise that these 2 training courses would just be just the beginning of something and that I would still need to look at finding apprentice work to gain experience and knowledge.

As i said, I really enjoy working with circuitry and have a good head for maths and problem solving and feel that Test and Inspection Electrician/Engineer work would be a good route to take. However, I have no knowledge of hands on rewiring and dont really want to go down that route.

My question is, is it possible to make a career from just testing and inspecting? is that even possible??? Or does Testing and Inspecting have to involve hands on rewiring of properties.

Are there Test and Inspection Electrician/Engineers out there who just test, inspect and certify works rather than being hands-on?

Im sorry if this question is long winded and naive/silly however any advice at all would be appreciated.

Thanks

Re: BTEC in Electronic Engineering - then train to become a Inspection and Testing El

Any advice or experiences on how I can at last put my BTEC to good use and change my career would be appreciated.

Re: BTEC in Electronic Engineering - then train to become a Inspection and Testing El