Discuss Car Engine Choice in the Electricians Chat - Off Topic Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

F

FB.

When you buy a car, what influences your choice of engine?

Will any engine "do" if the price is right?
Road tax bands?
Petrol/diesel?
Power to weight ratio?
Acceleration 0-60?
Fuel economy?
Latest engine technology?
A very small car with a very small engine?
A medium car with a small engine?
A small car with a fairly large engine?
Must have a turbo?

Having recently bought another car, I found myself bombarded with a wide range of often-conflicting opinions (from friends, family, salesmen and reviews) on what I should get in terms of both the car and the engine. I was happy to make my own decision, but I think a lot of people find it difficult or confusing - or are influenced by a salesman's pitch.

So how do you decide?

well I am a motor technician and also own and run a garage. I personally let my knowledge and experience tell me what's right for the type of vehicle I am buying.

so come on then. what did you buy?

When you buy a car, what influences your choice of engine?

Will any engine "do" if the price is right?
Road tax bands?
Petrol/diesel?
Power to weight ratio?
Acceleration 0-60?
Fuel economy?
Latest engine technology?
A very small car with a very small engine?
A medium car with a small engine?
A small car with a fairly large engine?
Must have a turbo?

Having recently bought another car, I found myself bombarded with a wide range of often-conflicting opinions (from friends, family, salesmen and reviews) on what I should get in terms of both the car and the engine. I was happy to make my own decision, but I think a lot of people find it difficult or confusing - or are influenced by a salesman's pitch.

So how do you decide?

3 litre V6 Toyota in a Toyota MR2 Mk2 rev. 5

Just sublime. :)