Discuss Domestic Installer Experience - Norfolk in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

Deleted member 98327

Hi all, Happy New Year :)

I'm looking for Domestic Electrical Experience and live just South of Norwich. Recently completed my C&G 17th Edition and a Domestic Installer Course. I've been a service engineer for over 30 years from apprentice (railway signalling) through brewery and coffee dispense equipment. Formal qualifications include TEC Electronics, C&G NVQ Dispense & Senior Dispense Engineer.
I've gained various Domestic (and commercial) experience over the years and am now setting myself up to offer customers Domestic Electrical services and other services (property maintenance etc).
I'm been talking with Stroma and have some projects soon which I'll use to get my CPS registration with them.
I'd like to gain some further experience and am open to offers that localish electricians may be able to make. This could include short/long term work, part/full time, or even just ad-hoc/project work. I do need at some point to make some money of course, but would be prepared to do some work for free.
I'm "tooled up" and mobile!
Please contact me if you could help or offer any suggestions, I have a full CV and further contact details I will pass on accordingly. I've emailed lots of electricians but not been very successful?
Cheers guys, Ian

Hi Ian,

I was in the same position as you around 4 years ago. I sent e-mails offering free work to all local electricians and got no replies. I can see now that no local electrician is really going to want to train me up so that I can start taking some of their local custom. Luckily I had a friend who was an electrician so ended up spending some time with him before I was let loose on the general public. I think it is a very good idea that you are looking for some experience before attempting to carry out any work as the DI course does not give you enough experience to do this safely.