Discuss EAL as good as C&G ?? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

C

Cbr900rr

Evening

More than likely this subject has been mentioned in previous posts, as a domestic electrical installer I'm finding it difficult to progress without paying for expensive, private courses as I have not taken the traditional route. Joining the electro technical industry later in life has prevented me from attending collage for 3 years so I'm looking at alternate ways to gain quals.
Any information on the following course would be appreciated:
Periodic Inspection, Testing and Clarification of Electrical Installations - EAL Level 3 Award
Would it be equal to the City and Guilds 2394 ?
Any advice and information welcome.

Cheers

I always thought you were either a 'domestic installer' or you weren't. Is there really any benefit to a domestic installer having the 2394?

The eal currently have less stringent examination criteria than city and guilds for testing and inspection courses. So you might gain them easier, but they may hold less sway with clued up employers.

If you want a piece of paper go for the cheapest and fastest. If you intend to go on a course to learn things then choose a good centre with a reputable course.

Andy, so what your saying is you don't beleieve the EAL to be as good as the C&G, in your opinion.
EAL is more of a 'turn up and tick the boxes' while C&G is more in depth.
Do you believe a 5 day course where you are pumped full of information, probably too much all at once, then charged a £500+ for the priveledge is a better option?? Genuine question??

Adam, thanks for the 'useful' comment. Trying to compare the 2 similar courses will give me a better idea of the discussion and its content. I'm pretty sure the the title of the discussion was NOT I am or I am not a domestic electrical installer.

The C&G can be done over a few weeks. When I did my 2394 & 2395 I spent 1 night a week at the college for a few weeks until the exam.