Discuss Electrican training/van in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

I

Iain83

Hi there all, I'm new to the forum, and wanted to ask you all about a number of things.
I am new to electrics but take a passion in it

Ok I am getting on a bit at 28 years old, for getting into this industry but, I am interested in learning from 12 volt to 11/33 kv, but not sure the best way for going about it. So.

1. There are short 'train' you in 6 month courses, which frankly seem a bit daft, cause there so much to learn for 4-6k. (seems a bit of a rip off) and most people don't seem to want to take those people on (any experience of that) so that leaves college and 3-5 years of training, but at least it would be proper like. Do you just ask around and hope you get an opening to work with a company whilst training?
I thought domestic installer would be the cheapest way to go right, as an alternative trying to save money, and then build from there, once you have experience, or am I doing myself wrong by limiting to just domestic at first.

However...I've been around looking at various different courses like trade skills for u and trade qualified (packages up other training courses lessons) which will ask your for 4-6k which sounds a bit of a rip off. But if you look at it as investment I still dont know, cause you got tools, and work van and all that so :|

2. Job prospects whilst training/trained, I hear people making like 50k if they are self employed. but what the real figures mostly do you think, I am guessing its all hard work more than people make out it is, and the way the construction industry is atm I guess not so great but in 3-5 years no one will know what it will be like, hopefully better.

3. All the codes for courses confuse me a bit to as it seems in a bit of flux, 2392 I think is the one with NVQ 3 in something is one way of doing it, are there other ways of training What would I need to be qualified for 11/33 kv and would that cover other work.