Discuss Fair Wage for my skill set? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. Jonny Rocket

Jonny Rocket EF Member

Alright guys, I just wanted to know what you would pay me if I were working for you. Been working 4-5 years doing general electrics. House bashing, fire alarm systems, data cables, antennas, etc. Can safely say I can rewire a house on my own; ringmains, lighting, kitchens, outside lighting, SWA if that's the case, consumer units. Fairly competent if someone asked me to do a fire alarm panel. Intercoms. I can have a go at cameras but need more experience in data cables. Nothing to coax and TV's really. Performance in work I'd say I was enthusiastic, more so than the boss that can be lazy and an arsehole at times. I'm in my 3rd year of college and I will do my 18th edition when it comes out and my AM2 along with completing my portfolio. Not driving yet as I have never needed to. Got most of my own tools within reason. Haha. Just wanted to know what you think I would be worth, had to write an essay because I know it's hard to know someone's value without seeing them work but I've been as honest as I can. Thanks lads

Last edited: May 17, 2017
  2. Vortigern

Vortigern Electrician's Arms

Business Name:
    F.H. Electrical
    I would start you on £7.50 per hour. If you were ok then £10.00 per hour. If you can do what you say you can do and don't go around bad-mouthing the people that employ you maybe £15.00 per hour. If you got really good £25.00 per hour. i.e. you can fully test and inspect and issue certificates and actually know what you are talking about.

• Like Like x 2
  3. Jonny Rocket

Jonny Rocket EF Member