Discuss Insulation Testing Query in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Quick question. I am new to electrical installation so please be patient. You guys are great at answers. Re Insulation Testing. Why if I test using 250vdc to a get a lower reading of 105meg but infinity at 500vdc. Ring circuit and everything disconnected (I hope 😂). Also meter warna of 40v for a few seconds after the test. Is this a capacitive effect??

Jonny

My first thought is that I'd actually be a bit suspicious of the meter and whether it is working properly at 500v.
Is this a calibrated meter that you trust? Have you tried it with a Cal Card (fairly cheap) or Checkbox?
(I ask because that is an unusual situation, there are a couple of reasons you can get a lower reading at 500v.)

My first thought is that I'd actually be a bit suspicious of the meter and whether it is working properly at 500v.
Is this a calibrated meter that you trust? Have you tried it with a Cal Card (fairly cheap) or Checkbox?
(I ask because that is an unusual situation, there are a couple of reasons you can get a lower reading at 500v.)
Not it's calibrated 6 months ago. It's a wee DiLog and hasn't let me down yet. I know I would have expected more accurate reading at 500v.

Just ordered a calcard form Amazon so will give that a go. Can you get MFTs fixed if an issue??

I have to agree, getting lower at 500V compared to 250V is very suspicious!

Usually it is very much the other way if SPD fitted somewhere (tens Meg or more at 250V, under Meg at 500V), and you can see IR rise with test time as dielectric absorption plays out, but rising a lot going up in voltage looks like a fault.

Yes I always test with leads apart and the leads connected and was fine. It's just a wee DiLog. I am only starting in the trade so best I can afford at moment.
Nothing wrong with a DiLog. A mate has had one for years and it does the job. It's good you've ordered a CalCard.