Discuss Lightwave RF Relay in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Shibby84

DIY
Reaction score
Hi, I am not a qualified electrician and am doing a little DIY project.

I want to automate the lights in my garage. I have lightwave RF in my house (sockets and switches) which are great but the switches only work on dimmer lights.

Iv brought a relay which I was hoping I could use instead of one of the switches in the garage. The switch has a brown, grey and black wire current going into (black - COM, brown - L1 and grey - L2).

I have tried brown to live and grey to neutral with black going into switch one. The relay gets power but lights don’t come on. Iv tried connecting the live and COM with an additional wire on the relay still nothing.

many help would be much appreciated.

Attachments

• A94C2E0B-12F7-4601-B771-89095FE18E01.png
    693.4 KB · Views: 12
  • 2418E928-6C08-4C9E-AA04-962F1BC65D37.jpeg
    305 KB · Views: 12
That sort of switch is a two-way one, so you have one "live" and two "strappers" going to the equivalent on the 2nd switch (hence the brown sleeving to tell you they are basically line/live).

There is no usable neutral in that sort of arrangement so you would need to look at putting then smart switch somewhere else that has access to the neutral.

That sort of switch is a two-way one, so you have one "live" and two "strappers" going to the equivalent on the 2nd switch (hence the brown sleeving to tell you they are basically line/live).

There is no usable neutral in that sort of arrangement so you would need to look at putting then smart switch somewhere else that has access to the neutral.
Would you expect the other light switch in the garage to have this? I had a quick look and there were more wired placed into each terminal.