Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement

Discuss Meter Tails Incident in the Electrical Forum area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Tags:
Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. Sam Ball

Sam Ball New EF Member

Hi everyone, I am not an electrician and have joined this forum for some help. Here is some background information to my incident:-

Background

House Built 1985
    Took ownership December 1999
    Electricity meter replaced by electricity supplier 12 January 2004
    Consumer unit upgraded 16 January 2008
    Current Incident March/April 2017

Incident

During March 2017 I noticed a thud in the lounge on right hand wall and investigated and could not find the cause

The thud or popping sound continued four or five times daily until 2 April 2017 when I investigated further. The electricity meter box was open and I looked inside and noticed the meter tails had a sooty deposit and was arcing.

I contacted my electrician who told me to switch off the power at the consumer unit and he came out immediately and made everything safe.

He noticed that the meter tails were of the wrong size being16.0mm² twin and earth cable old colour conductors of red and black (current rating 70Amps). Possibly original installation as the only work I had done is detailed above.

I agreed that the meter tails be changed to correct specification of 25.0mm² double insulated tails (current rating 110Amps) with 16.0mm² earth (current rating 74Amps).
    This work was completed on 4 April 2017

Conclusion