Discuss Motors and Panel's, good practical book(s)? in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

Jamie

Hi,

I am looking for a good book(s) on Motors and Panels, if anyone knows or has one that they would recommend :)

Thanks

Can you be more specific?
Wiring Motors of different kinds, What different motors are used for different jobs, maybe some fault finding if there are any books with that in, testing of a motor and control circuit.

I have wiring diagrams etc on single sheets, but it's quite hard keeping it all together, so would prefer a book on it that has them in too, that will be good for the future.

I'm an apprentice Tony, so just as above, general wiring, testing, fault finding if possible and wiring diagrams. 4 weeks on Motors and control circuits at college is not really a lot, I prefer to have a book in the van to consult if i'm left to do a small job on my own.

Pop down to your local large book retailer like and peruse whats on offer, the problem is knowing what level you are at and what you would understand too, motors covers a vast field and usually the theory behind them all is a life long journey where you never stop learning - Ive been doing it 20 odd yrs and still find motors and associated controls I don't recognise and struggle to reference even in my collection of books.

Any books stating basic motor theory and their controls would be a good starting point.

Your second ask is panels? As already asked please expand on that, if you mean machine control panels then you will struggle to find anything because most systems are bespoke and designed for their specific purpose so the variations and designs are limitless meaning a hard concept to cover in book form, my only suggestion to familiarise yourself with the general regulations surrounding machine control which is the BS60204-1 but Im thinking once you clock the price you won't bother buying a copy.