Discuss Multizone Hive wiring for S plan system in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Mctimmyk

DIY
Reaction score
Hi, I’m not an electrician or a plumber, but I am confident diyer and am not completely incompetent!

I have a new build house with a boiler/hot water system which I believe is S plan. There are 3 motorised valves (one for downstairs heating, 1 for upstairs and 1 for hot water). So it’s a dual zone whereby existing control downstairs controls heating and water, upstairs is heating only.

I want to install 2 Hive receivers (1 single channel and 1 dual channel) and am struggling with the control wiring (power is fine). I have attached a photo and diagram of the wiring centre and the various connections required on the receivers.

Any help much appreciated. Thanks in advance

Attachments

• 27026A74-6A71-4E4D-8AEB-D1EF02BD13A7.jpeg
    481.1 KB · Views: 11
  • 7AF8FE89-BFF8-4452-9BC8-7432962FECDD.jpeg
    520.9 KB · Views: 11
  • 3DED4406-6908-42B9-B3AB-3A67A30EEA9C.jpeg
    92 KB · Views: 11
So, a 3 channel programmer, or are you saying you can only have hot water with the heating on??

So, a 3 channel programmer, or are you saying you can only have hot water with the heating on??
I assume so? There are currently 2 thermostats, 1 is for control of heating d/s and water and the other is for control of heating u/s. All 3 are usable independently

Neutrals in both receivers to neutral terminal in connector box
Earths in both receivers to earth terminal in connector box.
Common in single channel and both permanent lives to live in connector box. (This can be 15, 16 or the live on the other terminal strip.)
3 on single channel receiver to 14 in terminal box
3 on dual channel to 7 in terminal box
4 on dual channel to 13 in terminal box.

I assume so? There are currently 2 thermostats, 1 is for control of heating d/s and water and the other is for control of heating u/s. All 3 are usable independently