Discuss Right level 3 training in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi.

I'm looking at some level 3 courses. The most obvious to me at the moment would be inspection and testing considering Im a domestic installer. Howevet Im not sure this is really going to test me as I'm 80% aware of what needs to be done anyway
What I'm looking for is some advice on an interesting career path possibly away from the domestic installation and repairs. I met someone recently that worked on an antarctic science base looking after their electric systems. I'd like something that would give me the opportunity for travel and learning. Outside of level 3 what else us there? Should I consider degree courses and what kind of entry qualifications would I need? I don't see retaking my a levels as an option. Perhaps there's a foundation year for something?
I think what I'm looking for is probably something in the commercial/industrial sector.

Any ideas would be very welcome.

Thanks.

Sorry to tell you this but to work in the commercial sector or industrial you will need to get your NVQ3 in order to be in with a chance. Without that your best hope is as a mate or improver for a company. College will be the best route for the NVQ3, which will be around 3 years of work. The New level 3 will be the base from which you could further your opportunities and focus on certain aspects of the trade.

Is city and guilds level 3 different? To get inspection and testing will take me a few months. I should probably fo this anyway for something in the meantime. I think I can get a JIB card with this. But what after? I'd prefer to study over working on the job tbh.

Thanks.