Discuss RING MAIN CONFUSION in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi guys.

Having a weird problem in a house that has suddenly happened.

One half of the ring main has 240ish volts (fluctuates of course), and the other half is dropping to 210v - This is when I test L-N and L-E…. N-E shows nothing. Whenever I plug a table lamp in the the faulty side of the ring, the voltage goes to 13v while I have my Meggar with my socket adapter plugged into the same socket

The ring continuity readings at the DB are normal, with no breaks in any of the 3 pairs. I was thinking i wouldn’t have a neutral but it’s continuou, and I do get a voltage reading across L-N at all sockets, only half of them drop to 210v as stated above.

I have little experience in fault finding, please go easy on me ahah. Any advice/help is appreciated.

Yeah they are fine
I doubt it, can you explain how you carried out IR tests to the circuit< where you tested and what voltage etc? what was plugged in and what was the actual readings, I doubt very much all was fine if what you posted originally is accurate, also what do you mean by 3 pairs of cables?

L-N-E not showing low IR readings at the DB on the sockets ring. 500v. Everything unplugged from all sockets, and the neutrals took out the neutral bar, same goes for the earths.

With 3 pairs I meant the Ls - Ns - Es continuity. Was getting 0.34 for lines and neutrals. 0.59 for earths

So, half the sockets at one side are showing 240v, the other half are showing 210v - across L-N, L-E, 0 volts across N-E.

When measuring the voltage with my plug in adaptor from my Meggar at a double socket, I plugged in a table lamp into the other side of the socket, and it dropped to 13v or there abouts. Bulb starts to flicker. This only happens on the sockets that measure 210v, but not on the ones that are healthy at 240v