Discuss Sharing a room when working away? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
So I have been told I am working away, they have not said anything about sharing a room with someone to me as of yet, however I heard one of the other guys who is going away is sharing a room? Is this okay as I feel I would rather have my own personal space after work and since I have not even met the guy I’m sharing a room with yet it feels weird.

I do not want to say anything as I’ve just started my apprenticeship and don’t want to get sacked or anything. I have no experience at all so I don’t feel like I can really say anything about having my own room

what are your guys thoughts?

It's common practice. I was working away for 9 months and shared a room the entire time mainly with 1 other guy but for a few weeks with 3 others. When your not paying for your own digs it's just something you have to get on with.

Last edited:
I work away most of the time. There is no way any of our team would share a room. You wouldn't share a room with a workmate at home so why should you when working away. The job should have been priced at the start for single rooms.

I mentioned a few weeks ago I worked away when Heathrow was building T5. I had to share a hotel room with a colleague, but due to his wandering hands, he ended up in some girls room several nights a week.

I don’t know if it’s still the case, but does JIB not state how much the company has to pay towards accommodation? If you want a single room, you could pay the extra.

I remember one time my brother who got lumbered running a job ended up booking two boys into a double bed.

It was either that or sleep in the van.

I was with him a month later in the pub whenever one of the guys met us and started complaining to him, it was funny to watch as an impartial observer