Discuss signing off domestic works (part p) in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

daniel.willis30

hi all, ive been working with electrics for 11-12 yrs now mostly rewires and ive been asked to get what ever it is i need to give a certificate for domestic installs. i currently have my city and guilds 2330 and im in the process of doing my nvq3 (log book).

so what do i need in order to get my part p?

i know i need a 17th edition.

cheers dan

hi all, ive been working with electrics for 11-12 yrs now mostly rewires and ive been asked to get what ever it is i need to give a certificate for domestic installs. i currently have my city and guilds 2330 and im in the process of doing my nvq3 (log book).

so what do i need in order to get my part p?

i know i need a 17th edition.

cheers dan
you dont need part p.

you become part p registered when you sign up to say niceic,elecsa,napit etc.

part p is only one of the building regs you need to comply to and its only for new builds really.

to get classed as approved you need

2330equivalent tech cert
17th edition
nvq
testing and inspection either 2391 or 2394/2395

Last edited:
no, but they keep phoning me to join them. all these scams are much of a muchness, but elecsa seem to be the most friendly.

Or just fill put the relevant cert and give it too the customer, do away with the BS that is Part P and keep the £400 plus cost of each notifiaction in your pocket.

Or if you feel a need to join one of the scams phone them all up and ask them the following questions

1. What benefits do you get from joining them? ( eg, there advertising to the general public, not trade magazines)
2. Why is there such a cost difference between their joining fees and the other sacams?
3. What do they do to ensure all their members keep up the standard of the trade away from the annual half day assesment in which the said member get to choose which job to show them?