Discuss Using aR fuse instead of aM in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi,

We used lately aR fuses instead of aM fuse. Can you please inform will there be any problem?

The application is water boosting and originally aM fuse was used. The circuit has also thermal magnetic relays for motor and motors are 0.55kw. Fuses are 6amp.

Thanks,

All I know of fuses is a gG is for general use and a gM is for motors
But what if we used one for the other type? As far as i guess the only difference will be short circuit opening time. Fast acting will open fast.

I think the only problem will be selectivity. Fast acting fuse will blown first and you need to change it. 🤔

Some fuses cope with inrush currents better than others, its like the B,C,D type breakers. I would imagine a gM fuse will take more of an inrush than a gG fuse without blowing but I'm no expert in the commercial side of electrics like some are on here.

Some fuses cope with inrush currents better than others, its like the B,C,D type breakers. I would imagine a gM fuse will take more of an inrush than a gG fuse without blowing but I'm no expert in the commercial side of electrics like some are on here.
Yes that's exactly difference i think. It will withstand in rush current better. The only thing is i hope fast acting is not that fast and can withstand in rush current. There is no exact resource about all of these fuse types. I could only find this EE02:FUSES BY MARKING | Book of Engineering - https://bookofengineering.com/ee02fuses-by-marking/

Very beneficial to find type of fuse and description but it does give lots of info.