Discuss Working away from home in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Big Dave

DIY
Reaction score
Hi All,

I work as a sub contrctor for a electrical company in London & i have been asked to work away for a few days a 4hr drive away & staying in hotels for a few days.

I have been asked to go up on the bank holiday in Aug early evening so i can be on site first thing on tuesday morning,I wont be doing the driving as i will be picked up.

I am just wondering what rate i should charge due to traveling up on the bank holiday & the long hrs i will be doing plus the travel back as we wont be due back in london until gone midnight as we will be leaving late.

Please let me know some suggestions & thoughts.

Thanks all have a good weekend.

Big Dave

And don't forget to agree they pick up the tab directly for the hotel and meals, not you pay and they reimburse through expenses, that way you can eat steak every night and have a decent bottle of wine to share with your buddies in the same hotel.

I agree with LikeD except it would be double money for all working hours.

It kind of depends on what they are willing to accept!

Travel by road is usually 45p/mile as the official rate (less above some point but if you don't normally get it then go for the higher rate). I agree with the above, get them to pay for hotels, etc, directly and not mess you about over expense claims.

Some employers have a policy of never paying for alcohol on expense, but they should at least pay for your steaks!

Hi All,

I work as a sub contrctor for a electrical company in London & i have been asked to work away for a few days a 4hr drive away & staying in hotels for a few days.

I have been asked to go up on the bank holiday in Aug early evening so i can be on site first thing on tuesday morning,I wont be doing the driving as i will be picked up.