Discuss Bad day yesterday in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

mickys86

I had a bad day yesterday and was just gonna forget about it but I wanna know if it was just me.

Before I start I just wanna clarify, I didn't listen to the builder in any shape or form. I'm the electrician, not him

So I have to wire the kitchen. It is only the third kitchen I would've have wired and I'm still learning. The last kitchen I did was a couple of weeks back for the same builder, same client. they are very good clients who gives my boss an awful lot of work. The last kitchen plan I was given was on a piece of plasterboard. Just scribbled down. It was all fine but when they came to fit the kitchen, with the plaster board and plaster they was out by 150mm so there was a bit of a balls up.
This time they didn't want that mistake so the kitchen plan is coming after the plasterers are done? I was told the oven is going there, microwave is going there, fridge there and dishwasher is either on that wall or that wall. Can you put in two supplies just in case. He just pointed at the spaces and gave no measurements.
The other problem was that they don't want any isolator switches on show, they want them in the cupboards. My boss isn't best pleased but compromised that they go in cupboards next door to appliances but on the side close to the cupboard doors so they can't ever be blocked in, how can I do that when I don't know where the cupboards are.
Also I wasn't given any information on the appliances, ie the hob or oven or microwave oven so how do I know what cable to run in?
I spoke to my boss and he said you can't do it without the plan. And he said not to run in two supply points for the dishwasher. The builder just told me to stop being a prat and get on with it. Coupled up with being tired, yesterday wasn't my best day.
That being said I feel better knowing I can chat to you guys and I'm still looking forward to going to work on Monday :)