Discuss Broken switch on night storage heater - fixable?! in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

The General

Well, firstly I ought to say that I think it's a broken switch!

I've checked that power is getting to the switch, but when you turn the dial and it 'clicks' there is still no power output in the returning line down to the elements.
I can't see what else it could be? Open to offers though...

So,
Customer has asked me to fix it if possible.

Is it possible?
I must make it clear that I'm not an electronics engineer and I'm pretty new to the whole domestic installation game, so soldering/intricate fiddly wiring is not for me. However, if you can buy a straight drop-in replacement then I ought to be able to cope!

It's a Dimplex model XL12N if that helps.

If it's not possible the customer has got a couple of old heaters that are gathering rust in the shed, so they want me to replace it, but I'd hate to go through all that work if I can just drop a new switch into the existing one (particularly as I don't even know if the other ones work!!)

any suggestions?
thanks in advance!

probably....... it's an obsolete model, sir. no spares available, but we can supply you with a nice shiny new model for £££££££££

So you assume that the switch is faulty but it sounds like you didn't test it and you didn't check the full circuit out and check the over temperature device hasn't operated then.

I sense that phrase is going to be used soon

So you assume that the switch is faulty but it sounds like you didn't test it and you didn't check the full circuit out and check the over temperature device hasn't operated then.

I sense that phrase is going to be used soon

hence why I'm seeking advice from more experienced people on a forum like this!

over temperature device? - pray tell me more......