Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement

Discuss Connection issue with swa in the Electrical Forum area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. Leejohnson222
    Offline

    Leejohnson222 EF Member

    Location:
    South port
    I need to run an out door supply.
    However the dist board is boxed in.
    There is access back entry but that doesn't help glanding a swa.
    Could you gland outside to a through box them carry the same cable to the breaker?
    Taking an earth leas from the conduit box also.
     
  2. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
    You could do, but it would be better to use a suitably IP rated adaptable box and don't forget to use an outdoor rated gland assembly.
     
    • Agree Agree x 5
  3. Spoon
    Offline

    Spoon Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Lancashire
    Yes you can.
     
  4. Spoon
    Offline

    Spoon Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Lancashire
    Do you mean Outside the house or Outside the boxed in CU but inside the house?
     
  5. Leejohnson222
    Offline

    Leejohnson222 EF Member

    Location:
    South port
    Well the conduit box will be behind some boxing in and under a lean to
     
  6. Spoon
    Offline

    Spoon Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Lancashire
    I would leave the box accessible. Not behind some boxing in.
    Also the cable from the box to the breaker will have to be RCD protected, depending on installation method.
     
  7. Leejohnson222
    Offline

    Leejohnson222 EF Member

    Location:
    South port
    Yes outside the house just behind the cu but inside some boxing in.
    All other cables are in the walls from cu
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. Leejohnson222
    Offline

    Leejohnson222 EF Member

    Location:
    South port
    I was going to put it on a 32 amp rcbo
    As it's going to an outdoor isolator for a hot tub.
     
  9. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
    What size cable do you intend to run, how far is the hot tub from the C/U, what loading is the hot tub, what installation method are you intending to use.?
     
  10. Leejohnson222
    Offline

    Leejohnson222 EF Member

    Location:
    South port
    Hot tub Is 13 amp. Cable run 10m
    Planned to use 2.5 swa.
    Clipped direct through a garage at high level.
     
  11. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
    OK thanks
     
  12. buzzlightyear
    Offline

    buzzlightyear Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    star command
    why do some people think we can do a job for them while on this forum .
    take picture of the work it will tell a story.
     
  13. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
     
  14. Leejohnson222
    Offline

    Leejohnson222 EF Member

    Location:
    South port
    Not to be rude but how is a picture of a wall where I intend to mount a conduit box going to help ?
    I'm not at the job right now.
    Just wanted to confirm I can gland somewhere else other than at the ccu since its not something I've done ever.
     
  15. Leejohnson222
    Offline

    Leejohnson222 EF Member

    Location:
    South port
    This forum always starts off helpful then soon turns to negativity and do you want me to do the job for you.
    So helpful, probably get more help on a fitters forum.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  16. telectrix
    Offline

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    take no noticeof buzzlightyear. (nobody else does :)). your plan saounds OK. gland SWA into a adaptable box, carry the tails into the CU ( in pvc tube is a good idea ), add an earth tail for earthing the armour, job's sound.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
  17. buzzlightyear
    Offline

    buzzlightyear Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    star command
    we all need help for time to time. but when you plan a job or start you have to become a engineer has well has a spark .put a plan on a plain paper let the dog see the rabbit .
    to help you
     
  18. buzzlightyear
    Offline

    buzzlightyear Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    star command
    we all need help for time to time. but when you plan a job or start you have to become a engineer has well has a spark .put a plan on a plain paper let the dog see the rabbit .
    to help you.
     
  19. Rpa07
    Offline

    Rpa07 2000 posts - only 46379 behind Telectrix! Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Bristol
    Business Name:
    Ebenezer electrical
    Double post by Buzz. Name and shame until Dan sorts it out! Careful out there - it could be you next!
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
  20. buzzlightyear
    Offline

    buzzlightyear Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    star command
    not again.
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  21. davesparks
    Offline

    davesparks Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    guildford
    2.5mm on a 32A ocpd sounds a little bit on the non-compliant side of things.
     
    • Agree Agree x 6
  22. telectrix
    Offline

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    oops.missed that. needs a 20A OCPD or go up to 6mm.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  23. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    Depending on the fixed load a 2.5mm off a 32amp mcb is no different than spurring off the ring final directly from the Mcb at the consumer unit.
    If overload protection isn't required then all the 2.5mm needs is fault protection which the mcb will give.
    I personally would size the mcb so Ib<In<Iz but it wouldn't necessarily be a non compliance
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  24. buzzlightyear
    Offline

    buzzlightyear Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    star command
    but would it be better to run a radial 20amp mcb or rcbo 2.5 mm cable own circuit if possible if a problem with out side fixed load with out knocking of main circuit .
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  25. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    Think he's planning a radial buzz , just off a 32 amp mcb.
    I'd go 20amp but just saying that what he proposed isn't necessarily non compliant.
     
  26. westward10
    Offline

    westward10 In echoed steps I walk across an empty dream. Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Why you would use a 32A device on a 2.5 cable to supply a 13A, which I assume to be a socket, is beyond me.
     
  27. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    Outdoor isolator according to the op.
    Makes little difference I suppose.
     
  28. buzzlightyear
    Offline

    buzzlightyear Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    star command
    ian 1981 , I see don't look back in hanger and mad for it. are at it about Manchester concert .
     
  29. Dave OCD
    Offline

    Dave OCD Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Cornwall
    Business Name:
    Hendry Electrical Services
    3kw design current I'd use a 16a B type RCBO. Might as well is nothing else is on the circuit.
     
  30. telectrix
    Offline

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    if his SWA tails come straight through the wall, not buried <2" in plaster, no need for RCD protection unless it's TT.
     
  31. Dave OCD
    Offline

    Dave OCD Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Cornwall
    Business Name:
    Hendry Electrical Services
    Ok in that case a 16a MCB. But if it's going straight to an external rotary isolator you'd need the RCD protection at source for the tub.
     
  32. davesparks
    Offline

    davesparks Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    guildford
    It is different to a 2.5mm spur from a ring, this is a dedicated circuit to a single appliance and the spur from a ring is one point out of a number of points for general use. The ring circuit relies on loads being spread around the circuit to work correctly and it is advised that fixed loads greater than 2kW aren't fed via a ring circuit.

    Yes you could prove by calculation that the mcb will provide fault protection for the cable, but this seems like an over the top and unnecessary thing to do for a domestic installation. Especially when you can guarantee that anyone who looks at this installation in the future will label you as a cowboy for having done it that way.

    Far simpler to install an ocpd which is better matched to the load.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  33. davesparks
    Offline

    davesparks Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    guildford
    It is different to a 2.5mm spur from a ring, this is a dedicated circuit to a single appliance and the spur from a ring is one point out of a number of points for general use. The ring circuit relies on loads being spread around the circuit to work correctly and it is advised that fixed loads greater than 2kW aren't fed via a ring circuit.

    Yes you could prove by calculation that the mcb will provide fault protection for the cable, but this seems like an over the top and unnecessary thing to do for a domestic installation. Especially when you can guarantee that anyone who looks at this installation in the future will label you as a cowboy for having done it that way.

    Far simpler to install an ocpd which is better matched to the load.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  34. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    I hope you do realise that I'm not suggesting that it's spurred from the ring circuit, more suggested that if it was supplied from a 32 amp mcb on its own dedicated radial then as it's a fixed load it not necessarily no compliant as people are suggesting.
    As stated I wouldn't use a 32 amp on a 2.5 , mearly suggesting it's no different being protected by a 32 amp as a spur is directly from the consumer unit when overload isn't a factor.
    And yes the mcb will protect against fault protection you don't need a calculation to work that out.
    Even a generic I2t let through value from a manufacturer will tell you that for a disconnection time under 0.1 of a second
     
  35. westward10
    Offline

    westward10 In echoed steps I walk across an empty dream. Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Is a hot tub a fixed load.
     
  36. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    It will I imagine have a maximum draw if you like
    If it's rated 13 amp it's not going to pull 20 is it?
     
  37. davesparks
    Offline

    davesparks Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    guildford
    It will under an overload fault, it will not be a simple resistive load.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  38. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    It wo
    why will a 13amp supply overload a 2.5mm swa?
     
  39. davesparks
    Offline

    davesparks Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    guildford
    That is not the question I was replying to, you asked if a load rated at 13A could draw 20A, which it could under an overload fault.
     
  40. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    Okay
     
  41. Leejohnson222
    Offline

    Leejohnson222 EF Member

    Location:
    South port
    The reason for 32 rcbo and swa 2.5
    Is this is what the manufacturer required for installation. 32 does sound over boars but the is what they state in the paperwork before the delivery of the hot tub.
     
  42. telectrix
    Offline

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    does manufacturer say a 32A RCBO or a 32A circuit? what's the wattage rating of the tub?
     
  43. Wilko
    Offline

    Wilko Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Berkshire
    Business Name:
    Wilko Electrics
    My worry is that someone in the future will see the 32A mcb and attach more loads to the circuit.
     
  44. telectrix
    Offline

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    thing is... if the tub is rated @ 13A, why in hell is a 32A OCPD called for. only needs a 16A or 20A, then 2.5mm cable will comply in all ways.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  45. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    Yeah but the circuit and installation in question should be assessed to see if it's adequate for alterations etc
    Stick it on a 16amp and be done with it
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
Loading...
Similar Threads - Connection issue Forum Date
Cooker connection unit to double socket for new cooker and hob??? Electrical Appliances Forum Aug 31, 2017
Help with light connections Electrical Forum Jul 22, 2017

Share This Page

  • Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job