Discuss earthed fuse board. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

E

evansjrraves

I found this fuse board at work. The main earth appears to be clamped to the side of it then run down to the main earth terminal, not sure why this has been done or if it is common as Im fairly new to the game. If anyone could help that would be great.

194.jpg

Probably got another cable from the inside of the bolt, to the earth terminal. Or it may be used as the term, depending on age.

I would normally connect the main earth into the earth busbar that will be inside the D/B, so you have a direct connection, then run any supp. bonds away from there to enclosures/doors etc in the vicinity.
You'll probably find someone has connected a fly lead onto the other side and took it to the earth bar that way.

edit
ipf beat me:)

double edit
hope he bloody scratched the paint off !!!!...........both sides?

Wiring inside didnt look up to much, according to labelling lights were being fed off 6mm cable, 3 wires going into a fuse here and there didnt really have the time to investigate but think it might need a re-wire. Also 6 lighting circuits all protected by different fuses

192.jpg

Run for the hills..

Can't say much without being on site. Might be a decent upgrade job, if they're willing to pay for it. Judging from the initial photo, layout not too bad for a small installation... I've seen a lot worse.

ive not really seen loads of installations and am still fairly wet behind the ears, I doubt they have the funds to pay for an upgrade but will suggest it

Old doesn't necessarily mean unserviceable you might find that upon testing there is not much wrong.

Rather than suggest an upgrade initially, get someone experienced to have a look and give you a bit of advice. A few alterterations, here and there, and you may be ok.