Discuss Entering the world of self employment in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Evening all
After nearly 2 decades of living the easy life working as an electrical maintenance engineer, I'm stepping out into the big wide world of self employment.
I was wondering if any of you lovely lot could offer some advice on a few things. I've done a load of reading on the Internet but I'd rather hear it from the horses mouths.
As an inspection and tester, what competent person scheme is the best to go with?
Any recommendations on which site safety cards to get?
Thanks in advance guys, gals or whatever else you may class yourself as

I’m with Napit at mo been self employed 6 years, best thing you’ve done going on yer own make sure you can got plenty of contacts refurbs r good bread n butter Work n mixed other jobs in with that
Charged more n finished early lol

Stroma is the best scheme. It's a bit like the old Avis rent a car jingle, becuase we are second best we try harder and they do. A very fair and thorough assessment at a good price. No rudeness and cavalier attitudes and sky high prices which you get not a jot more for by the way.
I know some people swear by NICEIC for getting into contracts but they are only social housing contracts which you do not want, avoid like the plague!
You will need PI and indemnity insurance and will have to produce your 2391 or equivalent. Personally I mostly do commercial and it is wonderful compared to domestic. You just get on with the job put the invoice in and get paid. Unlike domestic which is fraught regards money from start to finish. With Stroma you can also get third party notification as well which can be useful. I do a lot of work for extensions and do third party for them which is great as first fix is done to my specs etc. Which saves me a lot of the grunt work.