Discuss Part P , DIYers and confusion in the Electricians Chat - Off Topic Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
First things first so we can get the abuse out of the way, I am one of them horrible DIY people. The only thing I have in my defence is 2 years at college doing C&G Installation and an " interest " in electrics. I bottled doing it for a living as it seemed like hard work to me, I did back in the day rewire my own houses and as was the done thing got a sparks to oversee/check them for me. Am I right in saying that now the whole certification and qualification issue is in a complete mess ? I say that as my 80 year old mum has been instructed by the council to have her flat checked ( she owns it ) in advance of replacement of the service cables into the flats. She requested several locals to give her quotes for the work and any rectification required. First off only half bothered to return her calls, and on closer inspection some of them should not have been offering to do the work. As I had already suggested to her she needed someone with the relevant registrations one of the sparks said she didnt need any paperwork as he had a contact in the council ??? One chap showed her a gas safe card ??? of the other two one quoted an eye watering amount for what I percieved to be 1/2 to a whole days work depending on results. Luckily the last guy was not only registered he actualy turned up when he said he would. His testing seems thorough and he did recommend a CU change which was probably overdue, he ended up spending a day and a half on site but to a DIYers eye his work was very tidy and the test pack he left was complete with dates amount charged and recommendations. My point is are we suprised that many people are tempted to do their own when its such a minefield to find someone you can trust. Most people have NO idea what Part P is, as some of you have eluded to it just seems to be a money spinner for councils and Electrical Orginisations and must