Discuss Shower shocks !!! in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi guys,

in need of some advice, this is my first time on here so be gentle..!

I had a client call me to ask to look at a shower in one of his properties as the tennants are complaining of little shocks from the shower taps??
i immediately told them to isolate until i can have a look.

Once i arrived i did a quick visual and noticed 10mm bonding on water and gas, i verified those connections with a test. The readings on the water were a little high 0.20
The pipes behind the shower in the cupboard were cross bonded and I had similar readings.

Before I isolated I took a live Zs on the circuits and they were all ok, proving earth path all ok on them and all but 2 circuits were RCD protected.
I then took a Zs at DB and was happy with that

I then took a Ze reading which was satisfactory and whilst at the board i did an IR test on the non RCD protected circuits and it came back all ok.
I also tested the RCD and that was disconnecting in the required time.

I then stumbled across a circuit that was still connected and live but no longer being used, this was hidden in the same cupboard, i believe for an old immersion.

I disconnected the circuit from the board and went back to test verify, no voltage on L-N, but If I tested across L or N and the pipes I was getting 30v?

My first question is,
Is this just induced voltage? could these pipes be run in parallel and picking something up that being stood in a wet shower tray you can feel? I'm guessing not?

But If I went across the screws on the face plate and the pipes I also get 30v again?

so I did an IR test again on this circuit and all was ok.

So my second question is,

If there was an intermittent earth fault and the pipes were somehow picking up a current from something and bonding was not sufficient, surely they would feel this throughout the house not just in the shower?