Discuss Doing things correctly! in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

davey1984

Hi im new to this game as you will probably tell but i am also not one of these fly by night just done a weeks course i can now do everything guy. Basicaly my experiance so far is 100% mains electric supply as i work for a energy supplier installing single phase and 3 phase electric meters. my current knowledge extends to basicly being able to rewire everything from the electric meter to the consumer unit with little knowledge beyond the consumer unit. What i am interested in is up skilling to become able to perform consumer unit upgrades as with my line of work i see 10-15 customers houses everyday and you can gaurentee at least 5 will ask me how much to upgrade this and that so i thought why dont i upskill gain the correct qualifications and create my own company to capitalise on this. Now i could attend one of these week long courses you see advertised on the internet but im a firm believer in if your going to do a job do it right first time round so who better to ask than qualified electricans any help would be appreciated were i start , which course i need ect ect.

to change consumer units you will need to qualify as an "electrician"

you will need to get the correct qualifications and then register with a body like NICEIC to be able to sign off your own work.

iv never believed in these week long courses myself.

i have studied a total of 3 years at college now on day release along with a full time job.

qualified to level 3, 2330 with my AM2.

soon to get my 2391 :)

dont see how you can learn all this in a week ?

experience takes time..