Discuss Help.. Light Bulbs Blow When Switched On in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

popUP

i hope someone can help me.. first of all im no electrician. we rent a house and ever since we have lived here he have had this problem.. we are sick of asking the landlord to fix as he only sends round un qualified people which only say oww you need new light fittings and so on. he had new ones fitted and still no fix..

ok so the problem.. when we switch on the light in the kitchen sometimes its ok.. then all a sudden one random day the bulbs blows. sometimes this trips the fuse box and we need to lift the fuse box button/switch up to turn all lights back on. but kitchen light bulbs are now broken..dont always trip the fuse box thought.. this exact same problem also happens upstairs in my room and another one we had basic one bulb light fittings in each room with basic on/off switches..still problem there. we then upgraded the odd one or 2 rooms with spot lights in some of the rooms halogen ones. problem still there.. we have even had dimmers broken because of this problem..and the dimmers were so expensive :(

this seems to happen on random days.. there is no pattern.

now i say im not an electrician and im not but i can fit a light fitting and switches/dimmers..done it for years with no problems..

however i have not touched a light fitting or anything in this house at this time.apart from replacing bulbs :smilielol5:

if anyone can give me any advice on what to check or you need any more info please let me no.. i cant afford to keep buying light bulbs specially the halogen ones as there expensive and when they blow it blows 2 or 3 depending how many the light fitting has.​

just checked the voltage on one of the wall sockets with a multimeter and it reads 257 my multimeter is set to ACV (600/750) Uuk voltage is 240v so is my reading safe? should i test the voltage on with multimeter on a light fitting and take a reading ?