Discuss Lamp Voltage in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

Shaun O'Brien

I am currently studying a HNC in building services.
I've been asked to find out typical voltage usage for the following lamps.

Standard Incandescent Lamp
Halogen Incandescent Lamp
Fluorescent Tube
High Pressure Mercury Vapour
High Pressure Sodium
Low Pressure Sodium
Metal Halide
LED

If anyone could give me a list of typical voltage used for these lamps that will be great.

Thanks

You say 'Lamp Voltage', are you interested in the voltage at the actual lamp (bulb in UK-speak) or do you want the voltage of the fitting?

There's often a big difference. LED light fittings are often 230vac but the voltage across the actual LED component will be around 3 VDC. Halogen incandescent fittings are almost always 230vac but the actual lamp can often be 12VAC. Same goes for many of the lights you've listed.

You say 'Lamp Voltage', are you interested in the voltage at the actual lamp (bulb in UK-speak) or do you want the voltage of the fitting?

There's often a big difference. LED light fittings are often 230vac but the voltage across the actual LED component will be around 3 VDC. Halogen incandescent fittings are almost always 230vac but the actual lamp can often be 12VAC. Same goes for many of the lights you've listed.

I am after the actual lamp voltage, will most of them be 12V? Thanks

leds will light up from 1v ... they need a driver to work on 230v.
halogens are mostly 12 or 230.
fluo, hps, metal halide are typically 230v around here, but they are not connected directly, they need a dedicated ballast/control circuit.
standard lamps mostly 230 but they can be 110v too, for use on construction sites etc.