Discuss Complete Novice trying to install new 2 Gang Light Switch - please help!!! in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

C

Chrisl

Hi guys,

I am completly stuck, I am replacing my Kitchen Light Switches with new Chrome switches, I thought it would be just a quick straight forward swap, how wrong could i be!!

There are 2 separate lights in the kitchen on a 2 gang switch, indepently controlled by the same switch (2 buttons). After removing the current swicth, its an old tenaby switch and there are 3 conectors on the top and 3 on the bottom and 7 wires + earth.

The new switch as 2 holes/connectors on the bottom (both saying common) and 4 holes on the top (L1/L2/L1/L2) - Obviously very differnt to original switch

I presume the 2 lights have 2 cables each, one red and one black, I am then left with 3 remaining wires, one blue, one yellow and one black, i also presume blue is neutral, not sure which is the live feed?

Doesnt anyone have any idea how the heck I wire this lot up as I dont have a clue and dont fancy blowing myself up!!

Any help with be much appreciated!!

Thanks

impossible to advise on a forum. you will have to bite the bullet and get a spark in. therer are several forum members in your area, i'm sure would sort it for you. should not cost more than a call-out and 1 hour.

Hi there many thanks for the reply, I didnt really want to pay anyone to do it (skint), its just a standard 2 gang light swtich I am trying to install, surelly it cant be that hard, there must be some diagrams somewhere?

The point is, we (i.e. sparks) need to SEE these things, and perhaps conduct tests, to be sure what is what. Since we can't, how do you really expect us to be able to help you on here?

Hi, take the advice from Telectrix- it will end in tears ! If you had taken a picture before you removed the origional switch someone here would have helped you.