Discuss Filling in old unused socket holes (with wiring) in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

drg0nz0

-
DIY
Reaction score
Hello,

This is my first post and I hope it's ok to ask for advice even though I'm not an electrician. The forum rules don't seem to preclude this, but if I've got it wrong, I apologise in advance.

I'm renovating a 60s-era flat. The electrical wiring is in conduits embedded inside the walls and ceiling, as well as some in surface-run plastic conduits (creating extra power outlets). One room has 2 unused socket holes. They were covered with plastic plates. One is eye level, the other just above skirting board. The wiring is still inside and cannot be removed/pulled out as it's in the conduit inside the wall (they are in line with each other and I think the bottom one feeds the top one). I'm not sure what they would have been for. There's already one light switch by the door, and 2 lots of power sockets (both created with external conduit wiring, which originates from an internal conduit in a different location on the wall). Also, I'm no electrician but find it odd that there's no stripy earth wire in these 2 sockets (all other light switches and power sockets have it).

I'm going to wallpaper the wall that has these 2 old sockets and don't want any ugly covering plates showing. I don't see any use in these sockets, they look like they've been out of action for decades. But did want to ask if anyone has come across such disused sockets. Can I just turn power off at the fuse board, insulate the cut wire ends, put some stiff card or a piece of plasterboard over the holes, and fill on top with filler? (without having to get an electrician to do something (sorry :))

20151123_204421.jpg
20151123_204442.jpg

Thank you in advance.