Discuss How To Track A Short Circuit In A Lighting Circuit in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

I

iangorrie

I am a DIY amateur electrician who has a problem with my kitchen lights. The fuse continually pops about 5 minutes after switching on the kitchen lights (a chandelier and 2 wall lights). The bulbs are low energy so total load is <100w and the problem occurs even when all of the bulbs are removed. I thought that the delay in blowing the fuse pointed towards a loose wire so I have taken all 3 lights off the wall/ceiling but all the connections appear sound. I did the same with the switch and eventually lifted the floorboards assuming the problem must be the junction box. Again all connections appear sound. I repaired the fuse and switched on while all of the connections were exposed and 5 minutes later when the fuse popped again there was no heat evident at any of the end points of the circuit. I am running out of ideas and any help to pinpoint the short would be much appreciated. If it helps, I have a multimeter that I only use as a voltmeter i.e. I need clear instructions if the answer involves using the resistance meter.

Think you're probably best contacting your local spark to take a look, testing is something best left to professional with correct testing equip, chances are they will locate fault by the time you've got to grips with your multimeter, not being disrespectful just my honest opinion. :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks for your reply however I am going to persevere to fix the fault on my own. My next plan of attack will be to isolate the lights themselves as they are all antique (as is the house and the wiring!) and there is every possibility that the internal wiring (not easy to get a look at) could be faulty. Any other ideas on how to progress this without engaging an electrician would be welcome.

When you say test - what do you mean? I only have my multimeter and can't perform insulation tests with it.