Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement

Discuss Large Volt Drop in ring circuit in the Electrical Forum area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. Andy
    Offline

    Andy EF Member

    Location:
    Burnley
    Hi Folks
    This is my first post, but I've been reading many posts over the last few months and have found this forum very informative and some times very humorous, Thank you all.

    I have recently come across a problem whilst doing some PAT testing for a customer that has left me confused. Although this is nothing to do with PAT testing it was my PAT testing meter that highlighted the problem when I plugged it into a socket.

    The property is a 4 year old Timber barn and the loft has a small ring circuit with a spur off it feeding a socket below for a small telly.

    My problem is that all of the sockets are only giving voltage readings of 60v but the reading for the circuit at the CU is the standard 240v
    The only thing that I can think of is that when building the property someone has banged a nail through a cable somewhere.
    I have been round all of the sockets and checked connections etc and found nothing obviously wrong.
    When I mentioned it to the customer he said don't worry its probably been like it for ever and the sockets only supply low voltage stuff anyway.

    Well I am concerned that its wrong and there is possibly a nightmare waiting to happen.
    Im thinking of contacting the customer and trying to get him to let me rectify the problem
    Is there anything else it could be?

    I await your reply's with baited breath :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. telectrix
    Online

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    need to know a lot more. are appliances plugged into these sockets working OK? what are the sockets used for? and more.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. SparkyChick
    Online

    SparkyChick Making a banana smoothy for my fave gorilla Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    South Wales
    Business Name:
    SparkyChick
    A voltage reading of 60v with respect to what?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Des 56
    Offline

    Des 56 Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Gliese 581C
    it was my PAT testing meter that highlighted the problem when I plugged it into a socket.

    The test for voltage should be carried out with a voltage tester to have a true indication of the situation
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  5. Andy
    Offline

    Andy EF Member

    Location:
    Burnley
    Appliances are plugged in and working. All low voltage stuff.
    All voltages tested with a multimeter. Fluke 1653b
    60 volts at each socket (thought i'd said that)
    240 volts at CU for Circuit (thought i'd said that)
     
  6. telectrix
    Online

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    something wrong here.if a 240V appliance works, there's no way there's only 60V at the sockets.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  7. static zap
    Offline

    static zap Regular EF Member

    Location:
    west midlands
    Could be looking at some Power supply 12/24VDC ,60V AC above earth ,and a very confused pat tester box.
    (Customer says worry not )... but you know something is off !

    Switch to DC , on anything apparently 0V !

    Check appliances not 120V and you are seing some weird 60-0-60 Configuration .
     
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2017
  8. Pete999
    Online

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Northampton
    I think SC asked what the 60Volts referred to L-N, N-E, L-E When you say all low voltage stuff, what exactly do you mean? the system you are working on 24o Volts IS LOW VOLTAGE.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. Des 56
    Offline

    Des 56 Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Gliese 581C
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  10. telectrix
    Online

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    here we go again. poor terminology causing confusion:
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. SparkyChick
    Online

    SparkyChick Making a banana smoothy for my fave gorilla Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    South Wales
    Business Name:
    SparkyChick
    I did indeed ask what the 60v was in respect to. If it's line/neutral, you could have a loose connection at the board. It's one thing sticking your probe (oooh err) in the MCB terminal screw and the neutral bar, but if it's loose, it's not going to help.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. HandySparks
    Offline

    HandySparks Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Hampshire
    Business Name:
    Neish Electrical Services
    So many questions...

    For a start, describe exactly how you are making these voltage measurements, both at the sockets and at the CU.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Andy
    Offline

    Andy EF Member

    Location:
    Burnley
    Guys
    I know 240 IS LOW VOLTAGE
    Once the pat tester highlighted the problem i got out the MULTIMETER
    60 volts L-E + L-N
     
  14. westward10
    Online

    westward10 Please don't bore me with your life story. Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    I suspect the PAT does some sort of check at the socket and it is indicating a fault at the socket/s possibly an earth continuity fault and is showing a 60V potential at the earth. If there were 60V between line/neutral nothing would function.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  15. Pete999
    Online

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Northampton
    Deleted
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Large Volt Drop Forum Date
Fitting led lIght bar - Large Voltage Drop Auto Electrician Forum Jun 18, 2017
Wanted [West] Power/Distribution Transformers and Large High and Low Voltage Switchgear For Sale and Wanted Forum Mar 31, 2016
Is a Larger MCB needed? Advise d Electrical Course Trainees Only Jul 14, 2017
Cheap large roller toolbox! Electrical Tools and Products Jul 10, 2017
Large house 2.5mm or 4.0mm Electrical Forum Jul 7, 2017
Mains RCD tripping on larger MCB's Electrical Forum Jul 7, 2017

Share This Page

  • Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job