Discuss PAT Testing Method ????? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

Dizzy_Maskell

Guys just for your thoughts,

I was on a site recently and we encountered the local PAT guy, luckily we as a company don't do PAT so I have limited knowledge on the subject.

He was using an extension lead and testing about 10-15 items in one go and then stickering them all up after testing all the items in one hit.

We asked him out of curiosity if you can do this as we where not sure and he advised it is the equivalent of a global test when doing IR testing. He told us that if all 15 etc pass in one go then individually they must pass so of course it is ok.

Just looking for people's opinions on this as I have limited PAT knowledge has anyone else seen this done ????

What do you think? How has he carried out Earth Bond tests? Leakage accumulation? Are they all the same class or some Class 1 & 2?

Why are you worried? It's not you is it who is carrying out the tests?

Did he come on horse back and carry a lasso?

I can see the reasoning behind it makes sense but does sound a bit like a cowboy move. I also do not do pat testing so cannot comment on the effectiveness of this method. I would do it one by one if purely for more accurate results

Well he was wearing a Stetson and like I said we did question him but told us he was allowed to do it,
I was more concerned he said its like doing global tests meaning this guy obviously attempts fixed wiring tests

Many tests are required to ensure an item passes although global testing would indeed pass multiple items at once this is only on the insulation test, this cannot be done when measuring earth path resistance or flash testing, if he is just insulation testing and then passing them he isn't doing the full range of tests required, my test unit performs several tests per item (actual tests performed dependent on what is been tetsted)...